Book Review, “Drawing on the Right Side of Your Brain”


drawing-right-side

The book “Drawing on the Right Side of Your Brain,” by Betty Edwards.  This book includes information on the following:

  • Recent developments in brain research that relate to drawing
  • New insights on the use of drawing techniques in the corporate world and in education
  • Instruction on self-expression through drawing
  • Ways to step beyond black-and-white drawing into color
  • Detailed advice on applying the five basic skills of drawing to solve problems

While reading this book, I had come to find out that I had already been practicing the five basic skills.  The drawing skills I had learned by myself over the years and some were a part of my formal education.  This book did explain my tendencies better than I could, analyzing my handedness (left handed) and dominant R Mode (right brained).  For example, I have a hard time keeping track of time, especially when I am creating something.  This is due to using the right side of my brain.  The left side of your brain is where we use analytical procedures, words, and numbers, like keeping track of time.  Everyone uses both sides, but the book explains how much more fulfilling it would be if we used them both more frequently.

If you are interesting in purchasing this book, I would recommend going to this website to get more information about it and to look at the exercises. Here is someone else’s interaction with the book.

~ by florriebarnett on March 7, 2009.

2 Responses to “Book Review, “Drawing on the Right Side of Your Brain””

  1. I can not draw anything, all of my kids have taken art in school and are so much better than me. I wish one of them could really develop into an artist.

  2. Denise,
    Thanks for commenting! It sounds like your kids are fortunate to have a mother like you to encourage and nurture their talent. If you have any questions about specific elements that they may struggle with, don’t hesitate to ask me for help. I can suggest exercises for them and creative lessons.

    Also, if you desire the ability to draw, this book can definitely help. I would first try the example exercises on the website before purchasing it.

    Thanks again for commenting!

Leave a Reply

 
